Canoeing Portraits

Last week I went on a three day canoeing and camping trip down the Delaware River. There was a mixed bag of weather – sunny the first and last day, and on and off rain (overcast) the middle day. It provided a wealth of different lighting situations for my shots. I think I liked the overcast shooting best, which makes sense as it provides the softest most natural light. I was pretty careful not to shoot people’s faces at midday, when the harsh sun overhead casts harsh, unflattering shadows. Here are some of my favorite portraits from the trip.

Petey at dusk, day 2

Maya, my sister's boyfriend's husky/shepherd mix

My sister and Peter down by the water

Vince climbed a tree over the river, day 1

Leave a Reply

